Coat of Arms

Coat of Arms


A quartered ‘European’ Shield.
In the first quarter, six silver open books, against a maroon field, signify the six faculties of the university. The books feature, in Latin, the three freedoms that form the basis of the university:  Academic Freedom, Freedom of Conscience, Freedom of Choice.

In the second quarter there is a maroon cross, with four Bolnur-Katskhuri crosses featured in the quarters created by the large cross. The depiction of the Georgian national flag on the university coat of arms signifies its state status.  

In the third quarter, against a field of silver and maroon, the two keys intersecting in the manner of St. Andrew’s cross, signify the possession of teaching methods by the university.

In the fourth quarter, against a maroon field, three ermine trimmed professor’s hats signify the past achievements of the Sulkhan-Saba Orbeliani and the Ilia Chavchavadze Institutes, their unification and the future of the new university.

Beneath the coat of arms, a banner featuring the word LIGAMUS – meaning ‘we unite’ – expresses the motto of the university and its mission to unite education and research, to gather knowledge, to create new knowledge and to pass it on to students and society at large. 

Bottom Banners